The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

EAY
Board of Building Regulations and Standards FOR
1& Massachusetts State Building Code, 780 CMR MUNISISI;ALITY

Building Permit Application To Construct, Repair, Renovate Or Demolish a | Revised Mar 2011
One- or Two-Family Dwelling

This Section For Official Use Only

Building Permit Number; Date Applied:

Building Official (Print Name) Signature Date

SECTION 1: SITE INFORMATION
1.1 Property Address: 1.2 Assessors Map & Parcel Numbers
1.1a Is this an accepted street? yes no Map Number Parcel Number
1.3 Zoning Information: 1.4 Property Dimensions:
Zoning District Proposed Use Lot Area (sq &t) Frontage (ft)
1.5 Building Setbacks (ft)
Front Yard Side Yards Rear Yard
Required Provided Required Provided Required Provided
1.6 Water Supply: (M.GLc. 40,§54) | 1.7 Flood Zone Information: 1.8 Sewage Disposal System:
. H A 2

Public [J Private O Zone: _ %;f:icigf;zgzom' Municipal O On site disposal system [J

SECTION 2: PROPERTY OWNERSHIP!

New Construction O | Existing Building O | Owner-Occupied O l Repairs(s) O } Alteration(s) O | Addition O

Demolition O | Accessory Bldg. O | Number of Units Other O Specify:

Birtef Desoription of Proposed Work’:

Item Official Use Only
$ 1. Building Perntit Fee: § Indicate how fee is defermined:
. O Standard City/Town Application Fee
. Electrical . .
2. Electrica § O Total Project Cost® (Item 6) x multiplier X
3. Plumbing $ 2. Other Fees: $
4:Mechan DR List:
$ Total All Fees: $
Check No. Check Amount: Cash Amount;
8 O Paid in Full O Outstanding Balance Due:







ILIGHTED MUST BE COMPLETED!

SECTION 5: CONSTRUCTION SERVICES

License Niimbef Lixpiration Datg

List CSL Type (see below)

Type Description
9] Unrestricted (Buildings up to 35,000 cu. f1.)
R Restricted 1&2 Family Dwelling
M Masonry

RC Roofing Covering

W8S Window and Siding

SF Solid Fuel Burning Appliances

1 Insulation

Telephonc _ E_m_ail__a d_ress D Demolition

HIC Repistraion Number. _ oxpalion Dad

Email address

SECTION 6: WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE AFFIDAVIT (M.G.L. ¢. 152, § 25C(6))

Workers Compensation Insurance affidavit must be completed and submitted with this application. Failure to provide
this affidavit will result in the denial of the Issuance of the building permit.

Signed Affidavit Attached? Yes.oninn. A NO e O

SECTION 7a: OWN ER AUTHORIZATION fI’ (

I -_"ED?-WHENM_
OWNER’S AGEN' :

1, as Owner of the subject property, hereby authorize
to act on my behalf, in all matters relative to work authorized by this building permit application.

Print Owner’s Name (Electronic Signature) Qﬁiﬁ

SECTION 7b: OWNER' OR AUTHORIZED AGENT DECLARATION

By entering my name below, I hereby attest under the pains and penalties of perjury that all of the information
contained in this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and understanding.

NOTES:

I. An Owner who obtains a building permit to do his/her own work, or an owner who hires an unregistered contractor
(not registered in the Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) Program), will zef have access to the arbitration
program or guaranty fund under M.G.L. ¢. 142A. Other important information on the HIC Program can be found at
www,mass.gov/oca Information on the Construction Supervisor License can be found at www.mass.pov/dps

2.  When substantial work is planned, provide the information below:

Total floor area (sq. ft.) (including garage, finished basement/attics, decks or porch)
Gross living area (sq. ft.) Habitable room count

Number of fireplaces Number of bedrooms

Number of bathrooms Nuwmber of half/baths

Type of heating system Number of decks/ porches

Type of cooling system Enclosed Open

3. “Total Project Square Footage” may be substituted for “Total Project Cost”







The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Department of Industrial Accidents
Office of Investigations
1 Congress Street, Suite 100
Boston, MA 02114-2017
\ www.mass.gov/dia

Workers’ Compensation Insurance Affidavit: Builders/Contractors/Electricians/Plumbers
Applicant Information Please Print Legibly

Name (Business/Organization/Individual):

Address:

City/State/Zip: Phone #:

Are you an employer? Check the appropriate box: Type of project (required):
.0 1ama employer with 4, [[] Tam a general contractor and 1 6. [ New construction

employees (full and/or part-time).* have hired the sub-contractors
2.[] 1ama sole proprietor or partner- listed on the attached sheet. . 7. [] Remodeling

ship and have no employees These sub-contractors have 8. [] Demolition

working for me in any capacity. empfoylrees and have workers’ 9. [ Building addition
comp. insurance.t -

[No workers’ comp, insurance . . -
required,] 5. [[] We are a corporation and its 10.[] Electrical repairs or additions

3.1 1 am a homeowner doing all work officers have exercised their 11.[] Plumbing repairs or additions
myself. [No workers’ comp. right of exemption per MGL 12.[ 7] Roof repairs

c. 152, §1(4), and we have no
employees. [No workers’
comp. insurance required.]

insurance required.] ! 13.[] Other

*Any applicant that checks box #1 must also fill out the section below showing their workers® compensation policy information.

Hemeowners who submit this affidavit indicating they are doing all work and then hire outside contractors must subinit a new affidavit indicating such,
¥Contractors that check this box must attached an additional sheet showing the name of the sub-contractors and state whether or not those entities have
employees. If the sub-contractors have employees, they must provide their workers® comp. policy number,

I am an employer that is providing workers’ compensation insurance for my employees. Below is the policy and job site
information.

Insurance Company Name:

Policy # or Self-ins, Lic. #: Expiration Date:

Job Site Address: City/State/Zip:

Attach a copy of the workers’ compensation policy declaration page (showing the policy number and expiration date).
Failure to secure coverage as required under Section 25A of MGL ¢. 152 can lead to the imposition of criminal penalties of a
fine up to $1,500.00 and/or one-year imprisonment, as well as civil penalties in the form of a STOP WORK ORDER and a fine
of up to $250.00 a day against the violator. Be advised that a copy of this statement may be forwarded to the Office of
Investigations of the DIA for insurance coverage verification.

I do hereby certify under the pains and penalties of perfury that the information provided above is true and correct.

Signature: Date:

Phone #:

Official use only. Do not write in this area, to be completed by city or town official.

City or Town: Permit/License #

Issuing Authority (circle one):
1. Board of Health 2. Building Department 3. City/Town Clerk 4. Electrical Inspector 5. Plumbing Inspector

6. Other
Contact Person: Phone #:




Information and Instructions

Massachusetts General Laws chapter 152 requires all employers to provide workers’ compensation for their employees.
Pursuant to this statute, an employee is defined as “...every person in the service of another under any contract of hire,
express or implied, oral or written.”

An employer is defined as “an individual, partnership, association, corporation or other legal entity, or any two or more
of the foregoing engaged in a joint enterprise, and including the legal representatives of a deceased employer, or the
receiver or trustee of an individual, partnership, association or other legal entity, employing employees. However the
owner of a dwelling house having not more than three apartments and who resides therein, or the occupant of the
dwelling house of another who employs persons to do maintenance, construction or repair work on such dwelling house
or on the grounds or building appurtenant thereto shall not because of such employment be deemed to be an employer.”

MGL chapter 152, §25C(6) also states that “every state or local licensing agency shall withhold the issuance or
renewal of a license or permit to operate a business or to construct buildings in the commonwealth for any
applicant who has not produced acceptable evidence of compliance with the insurance coverage required.”
Additionally, MGL chapter 152, §25C(7) states “Neither the commonwealth nor any of its political subdivisions shall
enter into any contract for the performance of public work until acceptable evidence of compliance with the insurance
requirements of this chapter have been presented to the contracting authority.”

Applicants

Please fill out the workers’ compensation affidavit completely, by checking the boxes that apply to your situation and, if
necessary, supply sub-contractor(s) name(s), address(es) and phone number(s) along with their certificate(s) of
insurance. Limited Liability Companies (LLC) or Limited Liability Partnerships (LLP) with no employees other than the
members or partners, are not required to carry workers’ compensation insurance, If an LLC or LLP does have
employees, a policy is required. Be advised that this affidavit may be submitted to the Department of Industrial
Accidents for confirmation of insurance coverage. Also be sure to sign and date the affidavit. The affidavit should
be returned to the city or town that the application for the permit or license is being requested, not the Department of
Industrial Accidents. Should you have any questions regarding the law or if you are required to obtain a workers’
compensation policy, please call the Department at the number listed below. Self-insured companies should enter their
self-insurance license number on the appropriate line,

City or Town Officials

Please be sure that the affidavit is complete and printed legibly. The Department has provided a space at the bottom

of the affidavit for you to fill out in the event the Office of Investigations has to contact you regarding the applicant.
Please be sure to fill in the permit/license number which will be used as a reference number. In addition, an applicant
that must submit multiple permit/license applications in any given year, need only submit one affidavit indicating current
policy information (if necessary) and under “Job Site Address” the applicant should write “all locations in (city or
town).” A copy of the affidavit that has been officially stamped or marked by the city or fown may be provided to the
applicant as proof that a valid affidavit is on file for futore permits or licenses. A new affidavit must be filled out each
year, Where a home owner or citizen is obtaining a license or permit not related to any business or commercial venture
(i.e. a dog license or permit to burn leaves ete,) said person is NOT required to complete this affidavit,

The Oftice of Investigations would like to thank you in advance for your cooperation and should you have any questions,
please do not hesitate to give us a call.,

The Department’s address, telephone and fax number:

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Department of Industrial Accidents
Office of Investigations
1 Congress Street, Suite 100
Boston, MA 02114-2017

Tel. # 617-727-4900 ext 7406 or 1-877-MASSAFE
Fax # 617-727-7749

Revised 7-2013 .
www.mass.gov/dia



Debris Disposal Affidavit

BIGHLIGHTED AREA MUST BE FILLED OUT

Town of Uxbridge, Inspector of Buildings
21 South Main Street, Room 203
Uxbridge, MA 01569
Phone # (508) 278-8600 X 5 Fax # (508) 278-0709
Office Hours: Mon. Tues. & Thur. 7:30am-5:00pm, Weds 8:00am-7:00pm
FRIDAYS CLOSED

In accordance with the provisions of MGL c¢. 40,§ 54 Building Permit #
was issued with this condition that all debris resulting from work shall be disposed of in
a properly licensed solid waste disposal facility as defined by MGL ¢, 111, § 150A,

The debris will be disposed of in:

 Facility

780 CMR 8 Edition

Debris: As a condition of issuing a permit for the demolition, renovation,
rehabilitation or other alteration of a detached one or two-family dwelling,
M.G.L. c. 40, § 54 requires that the debris resulting there from shall be
disposed of in a properly licensed solid waste disposal facility as defined by
M.G.L.c. 111, § 150A. Signature of the permit applicant, date and number
of the building permit to be issued shall be indicated on a form provided by
the building department, and attached to the office copy of the building
permit retained by the building department. If the debris will not be
disposed of as indicated, the holder of the permit shall notify the building
official, in writing, as to the location where the debris will be disposed.
Also, See 527 CMR § 34.03.

*** ANY DUMPSTER NEEDS A
PERMIT FROM THE FIRE DEPARTMENT *#*

Should be included in this packet

WARNING: This document merely certifies that the above referenced buikiing complies with applicable provisions of the Stale Building Cede. No
opinion [s expressed or warranty given is to any potential health hazard not addressed by State Building Code including, but not fimited to, the
presence of radon, lead paint, asbestos, and urea fermaldehyde.



Homeowner License Exemption

Town of Uxbridge, Inspector of Buildings
21 South Main Street, Room 203
Uxbridge, MA 01569
Phone # (508) 278-8600 X 5 Fax # (508) 278-0709

Office Hours: Mon. Tues & Thur 7:30am-5:00pin, Weds 8:00am-7:00pm
FRIDAYS CLOSED

Email: ibangma@uxbridge-ma.gov

Any homeowner performing work for which a building permit is required shali be exempt from the licensing
provisions of 780 CMR 5108.3.5 provided that if a Homeowner engages a person {s) for hire to do such work, that
such Homeowner shall act as a supervisor.

DEFINITION OF HOMEOWNER:

Person (s) who owns a parcel of land on which he/she resides or intends to reside, on which there is, or is intended to
be, a one or two family dwelling, attached or detached structures accessory to such use and or farm structures. A
person who constructs more than one home in a two-vear period shali not be considered a homeowner,

The undersigned “homeowner” assumes responsibility for compliance with the State Building Code and other
applicable codes, by-laws, rules and regulations,

The undersigned homeowner certifies that he/she understands the Town of Uxbridge Building Department
minimum inspection procedures and requirements and that he/she will comply with said procedures and
requirements.

IGNATURE

APPROVAL OF BUILDING OFFICIAL DATE

Note: Three family dwellings 35, 000 cubic feet or larger, will be required to comply with State Building Code
Section |16.0 Construction Control.

“Persons contracting with unregistered contractors do not have access to the guaranty fund (as set forth in MGL
c.142A).”

August 7, 2014



Building Permit/Construction Process

Town of Uxbridge, Inspector of Buildings
21 South Main Street, Room 203
Uxbridge, MA 01569
Phone # (508) 278-8600 X 5 Fax # (508) 278-0700 Office Hours: Mon,
Tues. & Thar. 7:30am-5:00pm, Weds 8:00am-7:00pm FRIDAYS CLOSED
email: jbangma@uxbridge-ma.gov

The Massachusetts State Building Code (780 CMR) allows Building Departiments thirty days (30) days to act on a
building permit application. Building permits are usually issued within 10 days assuming all required information
detailed below is provided at the time of original submission,

1) The Building Permit application — completed and signed by the homeowner or his/her authorized agent.

2) The alteration fee is based on $5.00 per $1,000 of construction cost with a minimum of $50.00.

3) The new house fee is based on the current International Code Council’s Building Cost Data is approximately

$10.00 per square foot.

4) The Homeowner License Exemption Form - is required for work involving a single or two family residences if:
1) the contractor does not have a State Construction Supervisors License, or
2) the homeowner is seeking the building permit.

5) The Debris Form must be completed indicating where the debris from the construction site will be disposed.

Note; The Town’s residential frash does not include construction debris,

6) The Workers® Compensation Insurance Affidavit —- must be completed by the license contractor or the

homeowner performing the work.

7} Valid licenses and a photo LD. must be presents at the time of the application.

8) A Plot Plan stainped by a Massachusetts Registered Land Surveyor must be submitted with every building g
permit application for the construction of a new building, and accessory building, or an addition to an existing
building. All plans must conform to the “Regulations for Plot Plans for Bhilding Permits® and must include
existing and proposed open space and lot coverage percentages. (Current Certified with Wet Stamp, No copies).

9) Plans and Specifications: Every application must accompanied by three (3) copies (1 copy needs to be 117 X 17”)
of specifications and plans to scale with sufficient clarity, detail and dimensions to show the nature and character of
the work to be performed. This information will be thoroughly reviewed to determine code compliance, The
degree of completeness and accuracy will have a direct bearing on the time required for the review and approval.
Plans should include but not limited to:

a) Foundation plan with anchor bolt locations and clearly showing a minimum four (4) foot depth to bottom of all
footings.

b) Structural, mechanical and electrical plans in sufficient detail to determine code compliance. (Include exterior
building envelope component materials with R-values, heat loss information, HVAC sizing, etc. for energy code
compliance in accordance with Appendix J of 780 CMR Massachusetts Building Code.)

¢) All plans and specifications for any building containing more than 35,000 cubic feet of enclosed space, except
single or two family dwelling(s), must be stamped and signed by a qualified registered professional engineer

or architect.
8/7/2014



Building Permit/Construction Process

10) A Rubbish container permit must be obtained from the Fire Department if a dumpster will be utilized in

conjunction with this project.

11) The Conservation Commission must approve and construction that is proposed within an area subject to control
by the Wetland Protection Act and/or the Rivers Protection Act,

12) The Board of Health must approve any construction that is proposed for any food service establishment.

13) The Uxbridge Fire Dept. must review and approve all plans for fire protection, as required by building code, for
new, addition’s and/or major renovations.

14) The Historie District Commission must approve exterior work in the Historic District. Historic District “Rules &
Regulations”, “Application & Instructions”, and maps are located in the office.

15) The Planning Board must approve any new lot release in a sub-division,

16) A Special Permit and/or Variance will be required from the Zoning Board of Appeals if the proposed

construction does not conform {o current zoning regulations.

17) The Building Permit must be posted at the site in clear view and protected from the weather at all time until the

final inspection or Certificate of Use and Occupancy is issued.

The following is a list of the minimum required inspections to be performed. It is the applicant’s responsibility to notify
each inspector at least 24 hours in advance of each required inspection. Building inspections are done Monday,
Wednesday and Thursday’s 10:00 a.m. — 12:00 noon. Note: These are the minimum inspections required; complex
projects may require additional inspections, 1t is the applicant’s responsibility to contact the Building commission to
discuss any additional inspections, which may be required.

1. Excavation: Inspections must oceur prior to the installation of footings or forms.

2. Foundation: Enspection must oceur after foundation walls are erected, damp proofed, and perimeter
Drain installed but prior to any backfilling,

3. Framing: Inspection must occur after all framing is completed, but prior to the installation of any
Insulation or finish material. All plumbing, gas, fire detection systems, and electrical
“rough” work must be completed and approved by appropriate inspector prior to this
Inspection,

4, Insulation: Inspection must occur after all insulation, baffles and vapor barriers are installed but
prior to the installation of any finish material or wallboard,

5. FINAL: The inspection must oceur upon completion of all work and approval by plumbing, gas,
electrical, assessor and/or fire inspection but prior to eccupancy of any new building or
part thereof,

If you have any additional questions regarding the building permit process, please call the Building Department
office at (508) 278-8600 X 5 Monday — Thursday.

LIST OF PHONE NUMBERS

Building, Electrical, Plumbing & Gas Office 508-278-8600 X 5
Fire Department 508-278-2787
Assessor Office 508-278-8600 X 2
DPW Office : 508-278-8616
Board of Health 508-278-8600 X 8
Conservation Commission Agent 508-278-8600 X 2020

87772014



Dear Property Owners:

Town of Uxbridge, Inspector of Buildings
21 South Main Street, Room 203

Uxbridge, MA 01569
Phone # (508) 278-8600 x (5) Fax # (508) 278-0709
LEmail; jbangma@uxbridge-ma.gov

Date:

Prior to applying for your building permit, you must get approval from each checked department listed
below. Return this COMPLETED form with your permit application and materials.

Proposed Project:

Project Location:

Property Owner;

Map/Lot # Zone: Use Group: Type:
Department x Date Remark
Treasurer/Collector -
| Always X

1 Board of Health —
Approved Well Plans

| Board of Health —
1 Approved Septic Plans

Conservation
Always with any digging

1 Fire Dept.

| More than 1200 s.f. a floor

[ DPW - Water Dept
If using Town Water

DPW — Sewer Dept
If using Town Sewer

| DPW — Highway Dept
| Driveway Cut

Historie District
{ Commission (if required)

Zoning Board of Approval

(if required)

| Planning Board
(if Required)

Office Hours: Mon. Tues & Thurs, 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m, Weds. 8:00 a.m. — 7:00 p.m., FRIDAY CLOSED

(revised 2-10-14)







Checklist for Building Permits

Homeowner doing worl:

] Application must be filled out COMPLETELY.

[] Property ewner must fill out Homeowner License Exemption
L] Worker’s Compensation and or Liability Insurance must be completed,
[l Debris Disposal Affidavit needs to be filled out

(3) Copies of Stamped Building Prints, 1 set approved plans will be returned to applicant
(2 large size plans & 1 - 11” X 17” for office files). All plans MUST have square footage.

(1) Plot Plan showing new structure. (Current Certified with Wet Stamp) no Copies.

Dig safe # (Needed). #

Copy of Energy compliance or Masscheck. www.energycodes.gov

L]
C]
[] Acceptance of Septic Design/Water (if required).
]
(]

Sign off sheet from all departments checked (with application).
L] Fire Department needs to get the Rubbish Contaim;r permit application.
Hired Contractor in addition to above:
L] Worker’s Compensation Affidavit filled out by contractor.
] Insurance Liability Certificate (needed).
[ Copy of contractor’s license (CSL and HIC and any needed license.)
] Property owner must sign application. (7b)
[]

FOUNDATION AS-BUILT nceded before Certificate of Occupancy.

Inspector of Buildings — 21 South Main Street, Room 203, Uxbridge MA 01569 /Phone #508-278-8600 x5
Office Hours: Mon. Tues. & Thur. 7:30am-5:00pm, Wed 8:00am-7:00pm FRIDAYS CLOSED







SHoKE DETECTORS SAVE Lives

PREVENT FOREST FIRES

T

William T. Kessler, Chief

Rubbish container permit. 527CMR 34. {document--Aug 2014)

527CMR 34.03

The owner, lessee or refuse generatar of any premises shall abtaln a permit from the head of the

Fire Department for rubbish containers, which are emptied by mechanical assistance, of slx cubic yards or more in the
aggregate of compacted or uncompacted combustible rubblsh. Permits shall state the container location{s) and the
name and telephone number of the company or person who can be reached in an emergency, No permit shall be
required for containers which are delivered to a location and removed In the course of a single business day,

Address where container(s) is to be stored

Owner of property

Owner's phone number{s)

527CMR 34.05(3)} "t:'bntainér’s wilt not bé placed at any location as to become an obstacle to the egress of
persons from bur[dlngs or: to vehlcle traffic or as to obstruct operations of the Fire Department personnel

during a fire or other emerge cy.

y 527CMR 34, 05(4) containers will be" mar‘

notlfy In case of emergenc

d \l’.}j_'th_rtho name and telephone: nﬂrﬁbér of the company to..

_'527CMR 34 05(5) tops of contamers- w;ll not be wrthm 5 feet vertlcalty'or horizontafly below any wtndow -

E :gor other openlng, unless approved by th’g ire C|
.5527CMR 34, 05(2) contalners shall have access to theu__ ]
mmlmum 2 mch port opening fabeled

_:-'-;:”removing from a’ ompactor unit. ”
e cover Is acceptabl' L

_ 't:'t'tndeﬁrsita_nd th_an )

)

‘ (-N'érzhéof appllcant

Phone .ﬁumb'e'r:{' :

nterlor for flre exting |shment without movlng or-
“fire hose port or removable

{Signature)

Firm or Corporation

Permit number

Issued by

Fee paid i Check #

Signature

Start date

Restrictions

Expiration date

26 Soutd Man STREET « UxBRIDGE, MASSAGHUSETTS 01669 « TeL. 608-278-2787 « Fax: 508-278-8623




