Skip Navigation

 
 
This table is used for column layout.
 
 


 
Animal Control



                                                 2252015_100243_0.png



 The Uxbridge Animal Control Unit covers the Towns of Uxbridge, Mendon and Douglas.

Assigned to this unit are:
ACO Joyce Gareri
ACO Sue Banner

To contact the Uxbridge Animal Control Unit in an emergency dial 911 or contact the Uxbridge Police Department business line at 508-278-7755.

They can also be e mailed at: aco@uxbridge-ma.gov 

Be sure to check them out on Facebook at:


FAQ's

Animals Available for Adoption:

People looking to adopt dogs at minimal cost should call the Uxbridge Animal Control Officer Joy Gareri at 508-944-7199, at which time you can be placed on a waiting list.


Animal Control Bylaw

1. No dog shall be upon the lands or ways of the Town unless such dog is secured by a suitable leash or lead, one end of which shall be secured in a manner as to restrain the animal and the other end of which shall be held by the owner or keeper of such dog, or such person as may be authorized thereby; nor shall any owner or keeper of a dog permit such dog to be upon the land of anyone other than such owner or keeper unless such dog is restrained as herein before described, except by the express permission of the owner or person in possession of such land. Exceptions: Animals, which are classified as hunting or sporting dogs, as well as working dogs, while used in such capacity.

2. Dangerous and/or exotic pets and animals are not to be allowed within the Town limits of Uxbridge unless they are registered with the licensing authority for a fee no less than $2.00 and comply with any and all laws rules and regulations of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts pertaining to exotic pets. The classification of such animals includes but is not limited to snakes, spiders, parrots, skunks, and raccoons.

3.  All dog owners shall comply with this subsection within 45 days of acquiring ownership, but not later than March 31st of each year. The annual fee for dog licenses shall be $11.00 for male and female dogs; $7.00 for spayed and neutered dogs; and $1.00 for a substitute tag or a transfer of license. No person shall house more than 3 dogs age 6 months and over on a single premises without a kennel license.

Housing of four (4) or more dogs require a kennel license. The fee for kennel licenses shall be $25.00 for up to four dogs, $50.00 for five to ten dogs, and $100.00 for more than ten dogs. It shall be a condition of the issuance of any kennel license that the animal control officer shall be permitted to inspect all animals and the premises where the animals are kept at any time in accordance with Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 140, as amended, relating to dogs.

No person convicted of cruelty to animals shall be issued a license to operate a kennel.

Any person or persons who hold a kennel license shall make available to the animal control officer and the police department an emergency number where they can be reached.

All complaints received of a kennel will be handled in accordance with MGL C. 140 § 137C, as amended.

All kennel owners will show proof of rabies at the time of the license issuance for all dogs that currently reside on that property, and all certificates are to be made available at time of any inspection.

Late Fee: License fees paid to the Town after Marsh 31st or, if mailed, postmarked after March 26th and arriving late shall be assessed a late fee of $10.00 per assigned tag. Dogs obtained after March 1st, or less than 6 months old are exempt from this late fee.

The Board of Selectmen may make regulations relating to the licensing and operation of kennels.

4. Said fees along with all other fees and fines authorized by this section of the Uxbridge General By-Laws and M.G.L. Chapter 140 shall be deposited into the General Fund in accordance with M.G.L. Chapter 44 Section 53.

5. The Dog Officer can impound a dog for the following offenses:
  • Unlicensed dog
  • Found at large in violation of paragraph 1 of this bylaw relative to leashes
  • Injuring or menacing a person
  • Injuring a domestic animal or fowl
  • Chasing vehicles (autos, motorcycles, trucks)
  • Chasing bicycles
  • Causing any disturbance (barking, howling, disturbing peace, etc)
  • Being un-muzzled off the owner or keeper's property while a muzzling order is in effect.
  • For defecating anywhere but the owner's property
  • For being found at large at any schoolyard and/or recreational area
6. The Dog Officer can and will order a dog to be muzzled for the following:
  • Biting or menacing a person
  • Injuring a domestic animal or fowl (for which the Dog Officer can order the dog destroyed
  • Only the Dog Officer has the power to remove a muzzle order if he so desires. An exception is feeding time.
7. For biting a person, the animal must be quarantined for ten days, thus allowing time for a rabies test.

8. Any owner or keeper of a dog who shall fail to comply with any of the provisions of the laws and By-laws governing dogs shall be fined as follows:

$25.00 for the each infraction; second violation within six months, $35.00, third or more violations within six months of first violation, $50.00. Any violation which results in personal injury or property damage in excess of twenty-five dollars, a $50.00 fine. The Town may enforce the provisions of this bylaw or enjoin violations thereof through any lawful process, and the election of one remedy shall not preclude enforcement through any other legal provision.

9. Impounded, unlicensed dogs shall be kept for ten (10) days. During such time, a description of the animal will be available at the police station or directly with the dog officer. If the animal is not claimed, it shall be sold to anyone paying the fines and storage of said animal or destroyed in a humane manner.

The owner of an impounded, licensed dog will be notified by phone, mail or in person of the animal's confinement. The animal will be kept until the owner pays all fines, upkeep and storage. If not claimed within 30 days it will be destroyed in a humane manner.

10. To obtain the release of an animal, the owner must:
  • License the animal, if it is not licensed
  • Pay all fines
  • Pay all storage and upkeep set by the appropriate storage facility.
11. If found at large, dogs in the Estrous Cycle (heat) could be impounded. If complaints have been recorded, the Dog Officer may require the owner to remove the animal from the area of disturbance. If impounded, the owner shall be notified by phone, mail or in person of the animal's confinement. A $25.00 fine shall be levied against the owner or keeper of an unsprayed female dog, in heat, running at large.

12. Impounded, unlicensed dogs in heat shall be kept for ten (10) days. During such time, a description of the animal will be available at the police station or directly with the dog officer. If the animal is not claimed, it shall be sold to anyone paying the fines and storage of said animal or destroyed in a humane manner.


DEFINITIONS:
The following words and phrases as used in the By-laws, unless the context requires otherwise, shall have the following meanings:

"Keeper" shall mean person, other than the owner, harboring in his possession any animal. The Keeper shall be held liable for the action of the animal.

"Owner" shall include corporations, societies, associations and partnerships. Any person who proves ownership of an animal by possession of a current and valid license or other satisfactory proof of ownership.

"Hunting or Sporting Dog" means an animal under the control and direction of its owner or keeper while used in training or actual hunting. It also includes animals used in events or trials participating under sanctioned competition.

"Working Dog" refers to an animal used in the performance of a particular set of tasks. The animal must be engaged in such tasks to be exempt from Section 1. Examples include guard dogs, Seeing Eye dogs, and dogs used to control a farmer's herd or flock.

In the event that any provision or section of this By-Law is deemed invalid and unenforceable, all other provisions shall remain in force and in effect."

Adopted at 11/15/05 Town Meeting Action: 2/3 Majority Passed
(Section XXIV added May 8, 1979)
(Amended May 10, 1983)
(Paragraph 7 amended May 10, 1988)
(Paragraph 3 amended March 22, 1994)
(Amended May 11, 2004)
(Amended May 10, 2005)



 
 
Detail Detail
Uxbridge Police Department, 275 Douglas St., Uxbridge, MA 01569
Phone: (508) 278-7755     EMERGENCY PHONE: 911