Stormwater Committee

Background & Summary

The Town of Uxbridge Stormwater Committee is charged with overseeing the implementation of the town’s Stormwater Management Plan (SWMP), drafted as a requirement under the NPDES Permit and to continuously evaluate the SWMP for its effectiveness. The Stormwater Committee is made up of key municipal officials and members of the public.

The Stormwater Committee will be work toward permit compliance through implementation of a number of initiatives associated with the requirements found in the Stormwater Management Plan. These include, but are not limited to:

  • Distribute information to the public on the impacts of stormwater
  • Distribute information about steps the public can take to reduce pollutants in stormwater
  • Provide an opportunity for the public to participate in Stormwater planning
  • Prohibit all (existing and future) non-stormwater discharges to the storm system
  • Enforce prohibition of non-stormwater discharges
  • Regulate construction site runoff controls
  • Regulate implementation of post-construction runoff controls
  • Promote the use of appropriate Best Management Practices, BMP’s
  • Require BMP Operation, Maintenance and Funding Plans (O&M) for all new and redevelopment projects
  • Develop a training program for municipal employees

Committee Members

Name Title
Benn S. Sherman P.E. Chairman
Jim Smith Member
Joe Leonardo Member
Steve O'Connell Member